Featured Databases

Digital Library of Georgia

The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.

The Digital Library of Georgia connects users to 500,000 digital objects in 90 collections from 60 institutions and 100 government agencies. Though this represents only a fraction of Georgia's cultural treasures, the Digital Library of Georgia continues to grow through its partnerships with libraries, archives, museums, government agencies, and allied organizations across the state.

Based at the University of Georgia Libraries, the Digital Library of Georgia is an initiative of GALILEO, the state's virtual library.

The World Digital Library (http://www.wdl.org/en) makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures from around the world on one site. These treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings. Items on the site may easily be browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, and contributing institution, or can be located by an open-ended search in several languages. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, and advanced image-viewing and interpretive capabilities. Item-level descriptions and interviews with curators about featured items provide additional information. Navigation tools and content descriptions are provided in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. Many more languages are represented in the actual books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and other primary materials, which are provided in their original languages.

The collection was developed by a team at the U.S. Library of Congress, with contributions by partner institutions in many countries; the support of UNESCO; and the financial support of a number of companies and private foundations. BibliOdyssey has a nice selection of illustrations (with descriptions) from the World Digital Library.

Georgia Health Go Local

Georgia Health - Go Local provides information and links to hospitals, doctors, clinics, support groups, immunization programs, home health care, and other programs and services that you can use to find help for yourself or loved ones.

Georgia Health - Go Local is connected to MedlinePlus.gov, the health web site of the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

EBSCO Publishing is proud to provide the Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database as a free resource to anyone interested in libraries and information management. This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
Access Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) at http://www.libraryresearch.com

Teacher Reference Center (TRC)

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
Access Teacher Reference Center (TRC) at http://www.TeacherReference.com

GreenFILE

In keeping with their commitment to environmental consciousness, EBSCO proudly offers GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE initial release will include A&I for more than 600 titles, including comprehensive coverage from to volume 1, issue 1 to present for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913) and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
Access GreenFile at http://www.greeninfoonline.com

Other Databases

The Macon Telegraph Archive (1826-1908) via The Digital Library of Georgia/Georgia HomePLACE
The New Georgia Encyclopedia
Georgia Public Broadcasting Digital Library
The Library of Congress American Memory Project
Bartleby.com
The Comic Book Database
ComicVine.com - The World's Largest Comic Book Encyclopedia and Community
The Internet Movie Database
The Dinobase - Database of Dinosaurs
The Bagaduce Music Lending Library
The Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.)
AltLaw - free, full-text, searchable database of U.S. case law
Awesome Stories - The Story Place on the Web. Documents, images, audio clips, videos.
FindArticles - the place to go for Management
Data.gov - increasing the ability of the public to easily find, download and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.
Watch Documentary - "The biggest source of free documentaries to watch online"